Ahhhhh, GREAT LITERATURE! Thank-you Oscar Wilde!

I have not yet finished ‘The picture of Dorian Gray’ by Oscar Wilde, but it is inspiring in me feelings that arise when reading something truly well written. I am captured by the prose, the dialogue, the characters – I want to fist-pump the air and say “YES! This is why people read!”

A remarkable quote that captured my interest this morning goes as follows:

“That is one of the secrets of life. Nowadays most people die of a sort of creeping common sense, and discover when it is too late that the only things one never regrets are one’s mistakes.”

 – said by Lord Henry Wotton.

While I don’t wish to make mistakes, I read this and felt it resonate with my feelings about living life to the fullest – whatever ones ideas of a full life may be.

As we get older, sometimes we don’t try as hard, we become prisoners of our age and indeed of our own lives, and think that exploration and dream chasing is only for the young. We stop doing things because they make us happy and do them because we feel obligated to.

This quote to me means to take the chance, the road less travelled, make choices inspired by your ideals of happiness – you never regret things you took a chance on, only the things you were too afraid to give in to.

I can’t wait to keep reading this novel, and indeed many others, and feel inspired, to be mesmerised, to uncover many more little gems of well-written prose that take my breath away.

Leave a Reply

