Like a Virgin contest: Getting to know you.

Earlier this month I entered the Like a Virgin contest hosted by Kristina Perez and Rhiann Wynn-Nolet. It is the first ever contest that I have entered, so the “Virgin” concept works very well for me. Luckily I made the cut for round 1 as they only take 50 entrants, and I’m one of them!virgin_widget14

The contest kicks off tomorrow, and for the last three days we have been getting to know everyone via this bloghop. I couldn’t quite get the link to work (possibly as it’s now the 21st of April on that side of the world) so I have linked back to the Like a Virgin contest main page.

Hopefully I will be excused for my lateness, as it is still the 20th here, HERE being PRAGUE. I flew in today from Athens, where I have been for the last three days, hence me not participating any early than now. So! I’d better get on with it!

1. How do you remember your first kiss?

UGH! Awfully! I was fourteen or fifteen and drunk (sorry Mum if you read this!) at a party. I was drinking those disgusting Passion Pop things that used to cost about two dollars, and stumbled across a guy who was half-friend/half-crush. We had a very awkward slobbery moment that was over in about five seconds and we never spoke of it again, and that was it. If you must know, the same boy was one I’d had a very awkward “almost” first kiss with previously during a two-week boyfriend/girlfriend stint, and may have kissed again at some point (how we managed to get past the previous instances is beyond me). Wow, flashbacks. Moving on.

2. What was your first favourite love song?

Hm, tough question. I have to think about that one. I’m going to say Gangster’s Paradise by Coolio. No, I know it’s not a love song, but it was the first song I ever slow-danced to. It was in the sixth-grade at one of those disco nights that schools hold. I still remember that night when I hear that song. Oh, oh, oh, I’ve got it- Jewel. I’m pretty sure Jewel was one of my earliest “love” song type influences. You were meant for me. Naturally.

3. What’s the first thing you do when you begin writing for the day?

Plug head phones in, get settled with laptop and notebook containing ideas and characters bios.

4. Who’s the first writer who truly inspired you to become a writer?

I have two answers: 1) Real life Author: Marion Keyes. 2) Fictional character: Carrie Bradshaw. Not kidding.

5. Did the final revision for your first book have the same first chapter it started with?

No.

6. For your first book, which came first: major characters, plot or setting.

Major characters. It was developed from a feeling. This feeling needed to be explored and written about so I starting listening to this characters story about it.

7. What’s the first word you want to roll of the tip of someone’s tongue when they think of your writing?

Honest. I want people to feel that I write from the heart. I love writing that makes me feel that way, like the author is being so honest with me. Like they aren’t worried about censoring themselves (and I’m not just talking about profanity or sex scenes) and they aren’t including scenes just so it all “fits”, writers who have a story to tell and tell it without fear.

Wow, this should have been called “Getting you to have flashbacks and divulge embarrassing moments”.  And yet, I’ve had a laugh too, so I hoped you’ve enjoyed getting to know me!

Good luck to everyone in the contest, speak soon!

– Ali x

Leave a Reply

